Choreographer Mina Nishimura on making faces and dances

Nishimura’s highly expressive work Princess Cabbage/Celery of Everything premieres at Danspace Project this Oct 29-31.

Sammi Lim for The Dance Enthusiast: Princess Cabbage has gained quite a reputation for its speedy change of alarming facial expressions. Do your face muscles hurt after a performance? Sometimes my cheeks ache after a game of charades.

Mina Nishimura: Hahaha… That’s funny question! Yes, my face sometimes twitches. But I regularly conduct a practice called “starfish face” where I imagine a thousand feelers covering my entire face, with each one receiving different information. Using this practice, I try to articulate and activate every little muscle in my face.

Read the full interview.

Leave a Reply

