DANCE FOR LIFE: Chicago’s Top Dance Troupes Perform to Raise Funds and Awareness for HIV/AIDS

This August 15th, seven of Chicago’s top dance companies will come together for one evening at Dance for Life, an annual event to support organizations and dance community professionals dealing with critical health issues, including, but not limited to HIV/AIDS. Representatives hail from the Joffrey Ballet, Giordano Dance Chicago, River North Dance Chicago, C5, Chicago Human Rhythm Project, and Same Planet Different World Dance Theatre.

Portrait of Joshua Blake Carter © Todd Rosenberg.

Portrait of Joshua Blake Carter © Todd Rosenberg.

Dance For Life has always been very close to my heart. Ever since I was a teenager, I wanted to be a part of something that educated people and raised awareness about HIV/AIDS because when I came out to my mother some of her first words were, “Don’t you know you can get AIDS?”  My response, “Don’t you know YOU can get AIDS?” She didn’t like that too much, but it’s the truth. I love being a part of something that brings knowledge of prevention and can help eliminate stigma.
– Joshua Blake Carter from Giordano Dance Chicago

Portrait of Joshua Blake Carter © Todd Rosenberg Photography 2014

Portrait of Joshua Blake Carter © Todd Rosenberg Photography 2014

This year is especially important to me; I was diagnosed with testicular cancer in October and immediately went through with the operation and am happy to say that I’ve been cancer-free for over six months. The Dancers Fund, set up by Dance for Life to provide financial assistance to Chicago based dancers and choreographers who are dealing with critical health issues, has been fundamental in helping me to pay any extra bills that have arisen. The piece of mind this brought me has been pivotal in my ability to stay positive and to get back to what i love most – dancing. Thank you again, Dance for Life and I can not wait for another magical night on stage.
– David Schultz from Hubbard Street Dance

Read the full interview on Dance-Enthusiast.com.

Leave a Reply

