An Interview with Yehuda Hyman of Mystical Feet Company – “THE MAR VISTA” and Wartime Romance

Yehuda Hyman performs solo in Part I -

Yehuda Hyman performs solo in Part I – “Hamsa.” © Paula Court.

Sammi Lim for The Dance Enthusiast: Part II of THE MAR VISTA addresses your mother’s forbidden wartime romance in Istanbul. When my grandparents fell in love, their romance too, was verboten. I believe that falling in love under complicated circumstances can often result in stronger relationships. Do you?

Yehuda Hyman, Artistic Director of Mystical Feet Company: Ooh – I’d love to hear about your grandparent’s verboten romance. I love stories, always have – I can sit and listen to people’s stories for a very long time. My mother’s two-year affair during World War II in Istanbul was the strongest and most lasting romantic connection of her entire life (this was according to her – and relayed to me after my father’s death). It was a romance that could not possibly continue, for reasons that will be obvious to the audience of THE MAR VISTA. I can’t tell you about my mother’s romance because I don’t want to ruin the experience of discovering it when you see the show. My mother was “romantic” from the tips of her Gypsy feet to the ends of her expressive dancing fingers. Romantic, alas, almost always implies a complication, a longing for something that can’t be…

Read the full interview HERE.

Leave a Reply

